Puffin recommends . . .

Snow is falling (sort of) and it's that time of year where a few Puffins like to gather and tell you about our favourite books from 2009 and what we're really looking forward to publishing in 2010. If you're looking for Christmas present (puff)inspiration or you just want to read a really good book, we hope the following helps . . . Happy Christmas!

2009

My favourite book of this year has to be Charlie Higson's The Enemy. Zombies, a race across London and a cliff-hanger ending.  And the most gruesome launch party ever!  Utterly brilliant, for those of you who dare.

Enemy     Percy film tie in

2010

Next year, there's only one name to look out for, and that's Percy Jackson!  With a block-busting film coming in February, everyone will finally realise that our Greek demigod is far superior to any apprentice wizard . . .

Emily Cox, Marketing Manager

Diary Rod Last Straw DIY Dog Days 
 
Well now, there’s probably only one choice for me considering the amount of time I spent in an ice cream van this year relative to last year (none) and next year (possibly four days . . .). DIARY OF A WIMPY KID by Jeff Kinney! We can’t reveal the name of the new book yet, but there will be one, as well as a film and all sorts of other fun. You literally won’t be able to move for Wimpy Kid hysteria in the streets, I bet. And I can’t wait. Pass the ice lollies!

Hannah Flynn, Publicity and Marketing Assistant

Midnight TimeRiders 
 
 
My favourite book of 2009 is David Whitley’s The Midnight Charter. From the very first page, the novel sweeps you away into the fantasy city of Agora, where anything and everything can be bought and sold – even children! It is an addictively compelling read, which deals with the important questions surrounding power, corruption and morality. I can’t wait for the second instalment!

One to look out for next year has to be Alex Scarrow’s gripping new time travel series, TimeRiders. I need say little about it other than if you haven’t checked out the amazing trailer yet created by Alex himself – then take a look here.

Jayde Lynch, Press Officer

2009

The Vanishing of Katharina Linden by Helen Grant. This remarkable debut novel for older readers had everyone raving about it in 09. It's by turns funny and macabre, fantastical and devastatingly believable. It also has the best opening and the scariest ending of anything I've read for a long time. 

Katharina 
 2010

So hard to choose! But because we're in the depths of winter I'm going to pick The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han. Blue skies, beautiful beaches, and a romantic love triangle to rival Bella, Edward and Jacob's. What's not to love?

Amanda Punter, Editorial Director

Ganglands TimeRiders 
 
One of my favourite books from 2009 was Ganglands: Brazil by Ross Kemp. It’s the gripping first book in a contemporary and fast-paced teenage series based on Ross’s experiences meeting gangs around the world, and it really jumps off the page. In 2010 I’m recommending TimeRiders by Alex Scarrow – it’s time travel like you’ve never experienced it before, and perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Primeval.

Shannon Park, Executive Editor

Story book 

2009

Not only is Fantastic Mr Fox a fantastic tale by Roald Dahl, whom we have the delightful job of publishing, but earlier this year some of us were lucky enough to go to the world premiere of the Fantastic Mr Fox film by Wes Anderson. And so, thanks to Fantastic Mr Fox, we were in the same room as Bill Murray and GEORGE CLOONEY. Enough said.

2010

Pigs in Planes Chicken  PIPs Shark 
 
Kweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep!
When the alarm squeal sounds it must be a job for Captain Peter Porker and the PIGS IN PLANES!

In March 2010 two of the funniest books I’ve read in ages, written by Paul Cooper, will be landing on bookshelves up and down the country. Go PIPs go! This oinkcredibly funny series follows the adventures of Captain P Porker and his team of baddy-catching oinkers. Pigs CAN fly!

Sarah Kettle, Creative Executive